Deletion Wizard for a Page

Last modified by Eleni Cojocariu on 2026/10/02 09:12

Reference

When deleting a Page, the deletion wizard helps you manage several aspects of the process:

The options of the deletion wizard

OptionDescriptionImage
"Affected children"Choose whether to delete the children Pages along with the current one. If selected, all the Pages will be deleted together as a batch.The Affected children dropdown extended showing the LiveData with the children pages
"New target"Select a Page from the dropdown list, to update backlinks. Hidden Pages are not displayed in the dropdown list. If you also deleted children Pages of the Page, don't select a children Page as the new target.The dropdown of the New target with pages available to become the new target page
"Update links"This option controls whether links are updated automatically. The deleted Page’s backlinks will then be redirected to this new target Page. The option becomes available only after choosing a new target Page. 
"Create an automatic redirect"Adds an Object of type XWiki.RedirectClass to the deleted Page, automatically redirecting visitors to the new target. This is useful for preserving access when there are external links pointing to the original Page or its child Pages. Without the redirect, those external links would break after the rename. 

FAQ

Why can't I see the "Update links" checkbox?

You need to be an advanced user to see that checkbox.

Why are some links not updated automatically even if a new target was selected and the checkbox was ticked?

If a link to another wiki Page was created as an external link, it will not be updated automatically during deletion.

Why is the “Affect children” checkbox selected by default ?

When deleting a non-terminal Page, whose only child is the hidden Page WebPreferences, the “Affect children” checkbox is selected by default. This prevents the leftover WebPreferences Page from keeping the deleted Page visible in navigation or search results. You can uncheck the option if you specifically want to keep the WebPreferences Page, but this is generally not recommended.

The Affected children option checked with the expanded LiveData showing the children pages of the page

What is the WebPreferences Page?

It's a Page created automatically when the administrator goes to the "Page Administration".

Related

Get Connected